Award Recipients

Emeritus Award


The Emeritus Award was established as a symbol of respect and affection to recognize NYSTAA members who have retired or moved on to new professional positions outside the realm of transfer. Recipients have made significant and long-term contributions to the organization and are respected professionals in their field. NYSTAA Emertius Award winners:


2000 Margaret Pearson, SUNY Cobleskill College
2001 Sarah Anderson, SUNY Buffalo State College
2001 Bruce Duncan, SUNY Morrisville College
Mary Anne Mudge, Nazareth College of Rochester
 Larry Bolster, Niagara County Community College
 Jennifer Mailey, Cornell University College of Veterinary Medicine
 Edward Kompass, Dutchess Community College
Joan Pondolfino, SUNY Oneonta
2009 Christopher Whann, Empire State College
2010 Dolores Johnson, Nazareth College
2010 Donald Young, Wells College
2011 Evor Ingram, Nassau Community College
2011 Martha Meredith, SUNY Dutchess Community College
2012 Joan Austin, Cazenovia College (posthumous)
2012 Gloria Battaglia, Onondaga Community College
2013 Harolyn Pasquale, Binghamton University
2013 Gail Akin, SUNY Oswego
2014 Christopher Belle-Isle, Monroe Community College
2014 Steve Kast, The College at Brockport
2014 Roger Sullivan, SUNY Oneonta
2015 Katherine Schwabach, Herkimer Community College
2016 Priscilla DiRisio, Genesee Community College
2016 James Hoyt, Nassau Community College
2017 Susan Manfred, SUNY Potsdam



The Joan Austin Distinguished Service Award


(for members with more than three years of NYSTAA involvement)


In 2012, NYSTAA’s Distinguished Service Award was renamed in honor of Joan Austin, who passed away on December 2, 2011. Joan touched the lives of many both professionally and personally. Her commitment and dedication to NYSTAA and the field of transfer will not be forgotten.

The Distinguished Service Award was established to recognize individuals who have made long-term commitments of time and energy to NYSTAA. It recognizes significant and lasting contributions to the organization and advocacy for transfer issues. Recipients may have served the organization as board members, officers, active committee members, NYSTAA/transfer issues advocates across the State, conference presenters, professional leadership, role models for new transfer professionals, or served in many other capacities deemed significant to the mission of NYSTAA. Award winners have included:

1998 Gail Akin, SUNY Oswego
1998 G. Christopher Belle-Isle, Monroe Community College
1998 James Valone, Canisius College
1999 Bruce Duncan, SUNY Morrisville College
1999 Peter Lindsay, Niagara University (posthumous)
1999 Marian Nicoletti, Rochester Institute of Technology
2000 Jennifer Mailey, Corning Community College
2001 Priscilla DiRisio, Genesee Community College
2001 Edward Kompass, Dutchess Community College
2001 Susan Manfred, SUNY Potsdam College
2003 Joan Austin, Cazenovia College
2003 Gloria Battaglia, Onondaga Community College
2003 Maryrose Raab, SUNY Institute of Technology at Utica/Rome
2003 Katherine Schwabach, Herkimer County Community College
2004 Joan Pondolfino, SUNY Oneonta
2004 Roger Sullivan, SUNY Oneonta
2004 Mark Wojnowski, Niagara University
2005 Paul Fisher, Cornell University College of Human Ecology
2005 Bernice Dunn, Schenectady County Community College
2005 Cheris Lawrence, SUNY Oswego
2005 Special Achievement Award: Dedication to Downstate Region – Danielle (Brunetti-Huneke) McKee
2006 Thomas Fletcher, SUNY Environmental Science and Forestry
2007 Cathleen Anderson, Le Moyne College
2007 Donald Young, Wells College
2008 Beth Minard, SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry
2009 Brian Hazlett, Binghamton University
2009 Alexander Ott, New York Institute of Technology
2010 Kandi Geibel, Alfred State College
2010 Rebecca Mack, Monroe Community College
2011 Amy Stokes, Bryant and Stratton College
2012 Lia Hallett, University at Buffalo
2012 Christian Kull, Monroe Community College
2013 Bart Grachan, New York University – Steinhardt
2014 Lindsay Gerhardt, SUNY Geneseo
2015 Jessica McCaffery, SUNY Empire State College
2016 Thomas D. Iwankow, Maria College

2017 Kristen Aust, Bryant and Stratton College

2017 Tara Gates, Utica College

New Professional Award

(for members with fewer than three years of NYSTAA involvement)


The New Professional Award was established to recognize the service of new members to NYSTAA. It recognizes the enthusiasm of new members to become involved with the organization and promotes continued service. This award was first established in 2009.

2009 Christopher Hockey, SUNY Oswego
2011 Troy Cogburn, Marymount Manahttan College
2012 Mike Henningsen, Mohawk Valley Community College
2014 Robin Graff, Westchester Community College
2014 Kaylynn Iglesias, SUNY IT
2016 Paul Williams, SUNY Delhi

2017 Brittany Morawiec, SUNY Polytechnic